Rhondda Cynon Taf county borough is set to be the second area in Wales to go into local lockdown following a sharp rise in coronavirus cases, the Welsh Government has announced.

RCT is the third largest local authority in Wales so the restrictions will affect a huge number of towns and villages and tens of thousands of people across the Rhondda, Cynon and Taff and Ely areas.

It comes after Caerphilly borough went into local lockdown earlier this month. RCT restrictions will come into force at 6pm on Thursday, September 17.

It will mean people who live locally won’t be able to enter or leave the borough council area without a “reasonable excuse”, but what places are actually included in the local lockdown?

The restrictions will apply to anywhere that is covered by the Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, including Aberdare, Llantrisant, Talbot Green and Pontypridd.

RCT county borough borders Merthyr Tydfil and Caerphilly to the east and Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan to the south.

Below are some of the areas impacted by the local lockdown in RCT county, although it is not an exhaustive list.

Source: https://news.google.com/__i/rss/rd/articles/CBMiVGh0dHBzOi8vd3d3LndhbGVzb25saW5lLmNvLnVrL25ld3Mvd2FsZXMtbmV3cy9yY3QtbG9ja2Rvd24tYXJlYS1tYXAtYm9yZGVycy0xODk0Mzk0MdIBWGh0dHBzOi8vd3d3LndhbGVzb25saW5lLmNvLnVrL25ld3Mvd2FsZXMtbmV3cy9yY3QtbG9ja2Rvd24tYXJlYS1tYXAtYm9yZGVycy0xODk0Mzk0MS5hbXA?oc=5

News – The RCT lockdown area mapped as local restrictions are announced